Placeholder image for Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art

Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art

The college is divided into three schools: the Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture, the School of Art, and the Albert Nerken School of Engineering. It offers undergraduate and master's degree programs exclusively in the fields of architecture, fine arts, and engineering. 

Bachelor's programmes

Arts, Design & Architecture (1)
Business & Management (1)
Natural Sciences & Mathematics (1)



The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, established in 1859, is among the nation's oldest and most distinguished institutions of higher education. The college, founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist, Peter Cooper, offers a world-class education in art, architecture and engineering as well as an outstanding faculty of humanities and social sciences


The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, founded in 1859 by Peter Cooper, prepares talented students to make enlightened contributions to society through outstanding academic programs in architecture, art and engineering. 


The mission of the Center for Career Development is to advance personal, educational and professional growth. The Career Center complements The Cooper Union’s academically centered tradition by preparing students to make a successful transition from studying with a distinguished and creative faculty to applying their knowledge and skills to a professional practice. 

Global Student Satisfaction Awards 2019

GSSA 2019

The Global Student Satisfaction Awards empower students across the globe to determine the best universities of 2019. By rating institutions on a scale from 1 to 5, on multiple studies-related questions, we found the top educators in the world.

Learn more about the Global Student Satisfaction Awards


Student services

 These services include: Career Development, Residence Life, Athletics, Campus Life, Health and Medical Records, Counseling Referrals, Student Support and Advocacy, Student Judiciary, Student Clubs and Organizations, Orientation Programs and Commencement.

Housing services

The 29 3rd Avenue Student Residence Hall makes it possible for students to live in a community and share a collegial approach to learning that will have a lasting impact on their adult, professional lives. Intended to provide a transition for new students from living at home to renting a private apartment, the 29 3rd Avenue Student Residence Hall opened its doors in September of 1992.

Library services

The Cooper Union Library's specialized collections provide support for the academic programs at the institution's three degree-granting schools of Art, Architecture and Engineering, as well as courses in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Medical services

The Office of Student Affairs maintains partnerships with local providers for counseling, mental health and related supportive services.

Our Student Care Coordinator and Counselor, Cassandra Jolicoeur, is here to meet with students to provide support and to discuss mental health and counseling needs.

Student Life

Campus life

The building is staffed by the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, the Graduate Assistant for Housing & Residential Education, and eight resident assistants. In addition, there is a 24-hour security system, including security guards, television cameras, and alarm systems.

Sports facilities

At the Cooper Union, we have basketball, soccer, tennis and volleyball teams that are open to all students. All of these sports were initiated by student interest. 

Early in the fall semester, tryouts are held for each of the teams. We encourage the participation of both students with past athletic experience and those who are willing to learn. We have a great process and philosophy of teaching that helps all of our athletes improve.

Student clubs

The student organizations at Cooper Union provide an opportunity for students to meet people with similar interests.

  • Literary and Performance Groups
  • Greek Organizations
  • Professional and Honor Societies
  • Recreational Sports
  • Religious Clubs
  • Ethnic Organizations


In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.